Coverart for item
The Resource Madhouse at the end of the Earth : the Belgica's journey into the dark Antarctic night, Julian Sancton

Madhouse at the end of the Earth : the Belgica's journey into the dark Antarctic night, Julian Sancton

Label
Madhouse at the end of the Earth : the Belgica's journey into the dark Antarctic night
Title
Madhouse at the end of the Earth
Title remainder
the Belgica's journey into the dark Antarctic night
Statement of responsibility
Julian Sancton
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"The harrowing true survival story of an early polar expedition that went terribly awry-with the ship frozen in ice and the crew trapped inside for the entire sunless, Antarctic winter-in the tradition of David Grann, Nathaniel Philbrick, and Hampton Sides. In August 1897, the young Belgian commandant Adrien de Gerlache set sail for a three year expedition aboard the good ship Belgica with dreams of glory. His destination was the uncharted end of the earth: the icy continent of Antarctica. But de Gerlache's plans to be first to the magnetic South Pole would swiftly go awry. After a series of costly setbacks, the commandant faced two bad options: turn back in defeat and spare his men the devastating Antarctic winter, or recklessly chase fame by sailing deeper into the freezing waters. De Gerlache sailed on, and soon the Belgica was stuck fast in the icy hold of the Bellingshausen Sea. When the sun set on the magnificent polar landscape one last time, the ship's occupants were condemned to months of endless night. In the darkness, plagued by a mysterious illness and besieged by monotony, they descended into madness. In this epic tale, Julian Sancton unfolds a story of adventure and horror for the ages. As the Belgica's men teetered on the brink, de Gerlache relied increasingly on two young officers whose friendship had blossomed in captivity: the expedition's lone American, Dr. Frederick Cook-half genius, half con man-whose later infamy would overshadow his brilliance on the Belgica; and the ship's first mate, soon-to-be legendary Roald Amundsen, even in his youth the storybook picture of a sailor. Together, they would plan a last-ditch, nearly certain-to-fail escape from the ice-one that would either etch their names in history or doom them to a terrible fate at the ocean's bottom. Drawing on the diaries and journals of the Belgica's crew and with exclusive access to the ship's logbook, Sancton brings novelistic flair to a story of human extremes, one so remarkable that even today NASA studies it for research on isolation for future missions to Mars. Equal parts maritime thriller and gothic horror, Madhouse at the End of the Earth is an unforgettable journey into the deep"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Sancton, Julian
Dewey number
919.8904
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • plates
Index
index present
LC call number
G850 1898
LC item number
.B28 2021
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Gerlache de Gomery, A. de
  • Cook, Frederick Albert
  • Amundsen, Roald
  • Belgica (Ship)
  • Antarctica
Label
Madhouse at the end of the Earth : the Belgica's journey into the dark Antarctic night, Julian Sancton
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 321-325) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
viii, 350 pages, 16 pages of unnumbered plates
Isbn
9781984824332
Lccn
2021004352
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1246181941
  • (OCoLC)on1246181941
Label
Madhouse at the end of the Earth : the Belgica's journey into the dark Antarctic night, Julian Sancton
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 321-325) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
viii, 350 pages, 16 pages of unnumbered plates
Isbn
9781984824332
Lccn
2021004352
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1246181941
  • (OCoLC)on1246181941

Library Locations

    • Bedford Public LibraryBorrow it
      3 Meetinghouse Road, Bedford, NH, 03110, US
      42.946142 -71.516337